The Post Truth Pleasure Garden (2018)

2 voices, bass flute, bass clarinet, violin, viola, guitar, bass guitar, percussion and system

Programme notes

”More than 30 years ago, academics started to discredit “truth” as one of the “grand narratives” which clever people could no longer bring themselves to believe in. Instead of “the truth”, which was to be rejected as naïve and/or repressive, a new intellectual orthodoxy permitted only “truths” — always plural, frequently personalised, inevitably relativised. All claims on truth are relative to the particular person making them; there is no position outside our own particulars from which to establish universal truth”

Andrew Calcutt, 2016

Using this statement as a starting point, The Post Truth Pleasure Garden explores the concept of ‘truths’ through the sampling and reversioning of the acoustic instruments in the ensemble. The grand narrative is destroyed, a new orthodoxy created and everything you hear is relative to the people listening.

The words sung state “Australia now ignores laws of basic #HumanRights”. This is a quote from former president of the Australian Human Rights Commission, Gillian Triggs, at an oration in 2017. She notes that “the idea of alternative facts which had credibility has created an ‘Alice in Wonderland’ world where words mean what we choose them to.

[v-18]

The Post Truth Pleasure Garden (2018)

2 voix, flûte basse, clarinette basse, violon, alto, guitare, guitare basse, percussions et système

Notes de programme

«Il y a plus de 30 ans, les universitaires ont commencé à discréditer la “vérité” comme l’un des “grands récits” auxquels les gens plus perspicaces ne pouvaient plus croire. Au lieu de “la vérité”, qui devait être rejetée comme naïve et/ou répressive, une nouvelle orthodoxie intellectuelle ne permettait que des “vérités” — toujours plurielles, souvent personnalisées, inévitablement relativisées. Toutes les prétentions à la vérité sont propres à la personne qui les avance; il n’y a pas de position en dehors de nos propres particularités à partir de laquelle établir la vérité universelle.»

Andrew Calcutt, 2016

En utilisant cette affirmation comme point de départ, The Post Truth Pleasure Garden explore le concept des «vérités» à travers l’échantillonnage et la réintroduction des instruments acoustiques dans l’ensemble. Le grand récit est détruit, une nouvelle orthodoxie est créée et tout ce que vous entendez est propre aux gens qui écoutent.

Les mots chantés déclarent «l’Australie maintenant ignore les principes de base des droits de l’homme». Voici une citation de Gillian Triggs, ancienne présidente de la Commission Nationale Australienne des Droits de l’Homme, lors d’un discours de 2017. Elle note que «l’idée de faits alternatifs crédibles a créé un univers à la “Alice au pays des merveilles” où les mots signifient ce que nous décidons qu’ils signifient.»

[v-18]