Fred Frith + Danielle Palardy Roger

    • Wednesday, May 17, 2006
    La Sala Rossa
    4848, boulevard Saint-Laurent, 3e étage – H2T 1R5
    métro Laurier + autobus 51 / métro Saint-Laurent + autobus 55
    • In person

The first meeting between British guitarist Fred Frith and Montreal percussionist Danielle Palardy Roger. Opening act: Francis Arsenault + Alain Fleurent.

A free improvisation concert featuring two exceptional musicians whose art is strongly committed to innovation and noise-based experiments. Two forces of nature who can be both peaceful and frantic. An event not to be missed!

The evening will feature an opening performance by two young musicians from Trois-Rivières, including Francis Arsenault and his invented instrument The String. This young creative artist was part of the Sang Neuf event presented at La Sala Rossa. Arsenault will be performing with a new partner, Alain Fleurent.

This concert is presented in collaboration with the Festival des musiques de création in Jonquière and will be recorded by Bande à part (Espace Musique, Radio-Canada, 100,7); production: Hélène Prévost.

Participants

In pictures

  • Danielle Palardy Roger [Photograph: Céline Côté]
  • Montage recto verso du carton

In the press

Concert

Rencontre sans précédent entre le guitariste britannique Fred Frith et la percussionniste montréalaise Danielle Palardy Roger. En première partie: Francis Arsenault + Alain Fleurent.

Un concert de musiques improvisées, avec deux instrumentistes exceptionnels dont l’approche instrumentale est foncièrement engagée dans l’innovation et l’exploration bruitiste. Deux forces bien vivantes, qui peuvent être, à la fois, paisibles et déchaînées. Un concert à ne pas manquer!

En première partie, deux jeunes musiciens de Trois-Rivières, Francis Arsenault et son instrument inventé, la corde — un jeune innovateur que PSM a déjà présenté au public lors de l’événement Sang Neuf à La Sala Rossa. Arsenault performera avec un nouveau complice, Alain Fleurent.

Concert présenté en collaboration avec le Festival des musiques de création à Jonquière et sera enregistré par Bande à part (Espace Musique, la radio musicale de Radio-Canada, 100,7); enregistrement: Hélène Prévost.

La presse en parle