Sound of the Mountain

  • Performer

A duo featuring the hollowed-out of amplified clarinet and trumpet, Sound of the Mountain comes from a strong history of improvisation and extended performance techniques, offering their audience long-form deep listening experiences through the sculpting of vitalized breath.

Since forming in 2015, they have played over 100 concerts together, developing a sound language which merges acoustic and electronic textures through amplification and extended performance techniques. With this language they create long-form improvised soundscapes, evoking a vast range of textures, from silence and spaciousness, to rumbling bass and room saturation. The duo works with closely-mic’d instruments and minimal equalization, avoiding the use of effects pedals and loops, such that their constant physical attention drives the music. The whistles and creaking of metal and reed anticipate the more dense moments of distortion and feedback in pieces that can be appreciated as discreet moments, or longer forms.

Active touring artists, they have played internationally throughout Japan, Taiwan, Vietnam, Malaysia and Australia, and coast-to-coast throughout Canada. Making a point of collaboration, the duo has collaborated with Japanese improvised music pioneers Toshimaru Nakamura, Tetuzi Akiyama, Takahiro Kawaguchi, Michiyo Yagi and Akira Sakata, Canadian experimental trailblazers like the electro-acoustic duo Instant Places, Tone Deaf’s Matt Rogalsky, or Guelph’s own hurdy-gurdy player Ben Grossman, and members of Quebec’s experimental electronic community Alain Lefevbre, Anne-F Jacques, and Alexandre St-Onge, along with many many more. Favouring community-building and DIY ethics you’re most likely to hear them playing in your friend’s basement, artist-run-centres, galleries and cafes.

[ii-19]

Sound of the Mountain

Duo mettant en scène une clarinette et une trompette amplifiées, Sound of the Mountain, issu d’une longue tradition d’improvisation et de techniques de performance étendues, offre à son auditoire des expériences d’écoute profonde de longue durée à travers la sculpture du souffle vitalisé.

Depuis leur formation en 2015, ils ont joué ensemble plus de 100 concerts, développant un langage sonore qui fusionne les textures acoustiques et électroniques à travers des techniques d’amplification et de performance étendues. Avec ce langage, ils créent des paysages sonores improvisés de longue durée, évoquant une vaste gamme de textures, allant du silence à l’espace, en passant par les basses grondantes et la saturation de la pièce. Le duo travaille avec des instruments proches du micro et une égalisation minimale, évitant ainsi l’utilisation de pédales et de boucles d’effets, de telle sorte que leur attention physique constante guide la musique. Les sifflements et les craquements du métal et de l’anche anticipent les moments plus denses de distorsion et de rétroaction dans des morceaux pouvant être appréciés sous forme de moments discrets ou de formes plus longues.

Artistes de tournée actifs, ils ont joué à travers le monde, au Japon, à Taiwan, au Vietnam, en Malaisie et en Australie, et d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Partageant une volonté de collaboration, le duo a collaboré avec les pionniers de la musique improvisée japonaise Toshimaru Nakamura, Tetuzi Akiyama, Takahiro Kawaguchi, Michiyo Yagi et Akira Sakata, pionniers de l’expérimentation canadienne comme le duo électroacoustique Instant Places, Tone Deaf, Matt Rogalsky, ou Guelph’s le joueur de vielle Ben Grossman et les membres de la communauté électronique expérimentale du Québec, Alain Lefevbre, Anne-F Jacques et Alexandre St-Onge, ainsi que de nombreux autres. En favorisant la construction de communauté et l’éthique de bricolage, vous les entendrez probablement jouer dans le sous-sol de votre ami, les centres d’artistes autogérés, les galeries et les cafés.

[ii-19]