Ana Sokolović

  • Belgrade (Serbia), 1968
  • Composer

A key figure in contemporary music, composer Ana Sokolović was born in Belgrade, Yugoslavia (now Serbia), in 1968 and is based in Montreal since 1992. With a background in the rhythmic universe of Balkan folklore, her music is coloured with playful images and inspired by differing artistic disciplines. Her vast repertoire is regularly performed both in Canada and internationally.

Attracted to artistic expression at an early age, Ana Sokolović started studying classical ballet at age four, before turning to music and theatre. She began university studies in composition with Dušan Radić in Novi Sad and Zoran Erić in Belgrade, before completing a master’s degree with José Evangelista at l’Université de Montreal in the mid-1990s.

Her career quickly took off in Montreal. In 1995, her piece Ambient V was included in a programme for the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) for which she composed Jeu des portraits the following year. This piece paid tribute to Québec music and was premiered for the SMCQ’s 30th anniversary. Commissions for the Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+), Molinari Quartet, Esprit Orchestra, Turning Point Ensemble, Quatuor Bozzini, among many, followed. Her music is also supported by renowned orchestras such as the Montreal Symphony Orchestra (Charles Dutoit, Kent Nagano), the National Arts Centre Orchestra and the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra.

Fourth most performed female opera composer in the world in the last decade (according to Operabase), Sokolović’s hears her works performed throughout Europe and North America. Her first opera, The Midnight Court, presented at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, was noted for its “refreshingly playful, inventive, joie de vivre sound world” (Opera News). Svadba, which “seems to invent a universal phonetics of the human heart” (Le Monde), has been performed more than fifty times, including by Opera Philadelphia, San Francisco Opera, the Perm Opera (under the direction of Teodor Currentzis) and at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Additionally the work won the Dora Mavor Moore Award for “Outstanding New Opera.”

Sokolović’s fascination with various forms of artistic expression informs her work, as evidenced by its wide range and incidental music. This is evidenced in her stage music, including prestigious collaborations with choreographer Louise Lecavalier, director Denis Marleau, playwright Stéphanie Jasmin, and Oscar-nominated director Theodore Ushev for the film Third Page After the Sun.

Between 2011-2012, Sokolović’s music was celebrated across Canada in a Homage series of over 200 events dedicated to her and initiated by the SMCQ. Her career as a composer has been marked by numerous awards and recognitions, including two consecutive JUNOs in the category of “Classical Composition of the Year”: in 2019 for her work Golden slumbers kiss your eyes (for countertenor, choir and orchestra) and in 2020 for Evta, a concerto for violin and full ensemble. She has also won the Conseil québécois de la musique’s “Composer of the Year” award, the SOCAN Jan-V-Matejcek Award, the Fondation Serge-Garant’s Émile-Nelligan Award, and the National Arts Centre Composer Award, which included a teaching residency and several commissions.

Sokolović’s works have been recorded on more than twenty discs, including several by important ensembles and ardent supporters of her music: Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+), Quatuor Bozzini, Ensemble Transmission, Turning Point Ensemble. Festivals around the world have also featured her work, including the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Festival Présences in Paris, Nordic Music Days in Reykjavik, Venice Music Biennale, Zagreb Music Biennale, Holland Festival in Amsterdam, aDevantgarde Festival in Munich, El Cervantino in Mexico City, Diaghilev Festival in Perm, Beijing Music Festival, and the ISCM Music Days event in Vancouver.

In 2020, she joined the prestigious publishing house Boosey & Hawkes. The following year, she was appointed composer-in-residence at the Montreal Symphony Orchestra for three seasons. In 2022, Ana Sokolović was awarded the first Canada Research Chair in Opera Creation at l’Université de Montréal where she is also a professor of composition. This same year, she became the new artistic director of the SMCQ, the most important Canadian organization dedicated to contemporary music.

Events

Ana Sokolović

  • Belgrade (Serbie), 1968
  • Compositrice

Figure importante de la musique contemporaine, la compositrice Ana Sokolović est née à Belgrade, Yougoslavie (aujourd’hui Serbie) en 1968 et œuvre à Montréal depuis 1992. Sa musique se distingue par son univers rythmé du folklore des Balkans, coloré d’images ludiques et inspiré de différentes disciplines artistiques. Son vaste répertoire est régulièrement interprété, tant sur la scène canadienne qu’à l’international.

Attirée par l’expression artistique dès son plus jeune âge, Ana Sokolović suit déjà des cours de ballet classique à quatre ans, avant de se tourner vers la musique et le théâtre. Elle entreprend des études universitaires en composition auprès de Dušan Radić à Novi Sad et Zoran Erić à Belgrade, avant de terminer une maîtrise sous la direction de José Evangelista à l’Université de Montréal au milieu des années 1990.

Sa carrière prend rapidement son envol à Montréal. Dès 1995, sa pièce Ambient V est inscrite à un programme de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ), pour qui elle compose Jeu des portraits l’année suivante. Cette première commande professionnelle, qui rend d’ailleurs hommage à la musique québécoise, est créée à l’occasion du 30e anniversaire de la SMCQ. Puis, Ana Sokolović sera appelée à composer pour divers ensembles dont l’Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+), le Quatuor Molinari, Esprit Orchestra, Turning Point Ensemble et le Quatuor Bozzini. Sa musique est également soutenue par des orchestres renommés dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (Charles Dutoit, Kent Nagano), l’Orchestre du Centre national des arts et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Belgrade.

Quatrième compositrice d’opéras la plus jouée au monde au cours de la dernière décennie (2010-19), selon Operabase, Ana Sokolović voit ses œuvres interprétées à travers l’Europe et l’Amérique du Nord. Son premier opéra, The Midnight Court, présenté au Royal Opera House Covent Garden, est remarqué pour «son monde sonore rafraîchissant, d’un esprit ludique inventif, rempli de joie de vivre» (Opera News). Son opéra Svadba, qui «semble inventer une phonétique universelle du cœur humain» (Le Monde) a été joué plus d’une cinquantaine de fois, notamment par l’Opera Philadelphia, le San Francisco Opera, l’Opéra de Perm (sous la direction de Teodor Currentzis) et au Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, en plus de remporter le Dora Mavor Moore Award for “Outstanding New Opera”.

La fascination de la compositrice pour les différentes formes d’expression artistique teinte son travail, comme en témoigne son large éventail d’œuvres et de musique de scène. À l’instar de prestigieuses collaborations, que ce soit avec la chorégraphe Louise Lecavalier, le metteur en scène Denis Marleau et la dramaturge Stéphanie Jasmin ou encore le réalisateur nominé aux oscars, Theodore Ushev, pour le film Troisième page après le soleil.

Entre 2011-2012, la musique d’Ana Sokolović est célébrée dans tout le pays lors d’une Série hommage (plus de 200 événements) qui lui est dédiée à l’initiative de la SMCQ. De nombreux prix et reconnaissances jalonnent son parcours de compositrice, dont deux JUNO consécutifs dans la catégorie «Composition classique de l’année»: en 2019 pour son œuvre Golden slumbers kiss your eyes (pour contre-ténor, chœur et orchestre) et en 2020 pour Evta, son concerto pour violon et grand ensemble. Elle a également remporté le prix «Compositeur de l’année» du Conseil québécois de la musique, le Prix Jan-V-Matejcek de la SOCAN, le prix Émile-Nelligan de la Fondation Serge-Garant, ainsi que le Prix du Centre national des arts pour compositeur, qui comprenait une résidence pour l’enseignement et plusieurs commandes.

Les pièces de Sokolović ont fait l’objet de plus d’une vingtaine d’enregistrements, dont plusieurs disques d’ensemble importants et d’ardents défendeurs de sa musique: l’Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+), le Quatuor Bozzini, l’Ensemble Transmission et Turning Point Ensemble. Des festivals du monde entier ont aussi présenté ses œuvres,citons entre autres le Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, le Festival Présences à Paris, Nordic Music Days à Reykjavik, la Biennale de musique de Venise, la Biennale de musique de Zagreb, le Festival Holland à Amsterdam, le Festival aDevantgarde à Munich, El Cervantino à Mexico, le Festival Diaghilev à Perm, le Beijing Music Festival et l’événement ISCM Music Days à Vancouver.

En 2020, elle rejoint la prestigieuse maison d’édition Boosey & Hawkes. L’année suivante, elle est nommée compositrice en résidence à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal pour trois saisons. En 2022, Ana Sokolović obtient la première Chaire de recherche du Canada en création d’opéra à l’Université de Montréal où elle est également professeure de composition. Cette même année, elle devient la nouvelle directrice artistique de la SMCQ, la plus importante institution canadienne dédiée à la musique contemporaine.

Spectacles