Wondeur Brass — Europe 1988

Simoneda 2: Wondeur Brass plays songs from its new Slavic-tinged, evermore rebel-sounding record “Simoneda, reine des esclaves”. With this second album released december firt 1987, the only brass left in Wondeur Brass is in the group’s name. Through the years, the quartet has turned its back on fanfare music to foray into new music and avant-rock. The four musicians have kicked the energy levels up a few notches.

Dissonances, tension between improvisation and the automated aspect of keyboard-programmed sounds, beats out of sync and surreal narratives are this incarnation’s trademarks. The group makes frequent tours in Europe, Quebec and Canada.

  • Sunday, May 15, 1988
Salle des fêtes – Centre culturel André Malraux (Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy)
Rue de Parme – Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy (Meurthe-et-Moselle, France)
  • Thursday, May 26, 1988
Café Spielplatz
Münsterplatz 12 – Schwäbisch Gmünd (Baden-Württemberg, Germany)
  • Saturday, May 28, 1988
Jazz Klub
Krefeld (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany)
  • Sunday, May 29, 1988
Stadtgarten
Venloer Straße 40 – Cologne (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany)
  • Friday, June 3, 1988
Bunker Ulmenwall
Kreuzstraße 0 – Bielefeld (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany)
  • Saturday, June 4, 1988
Théâtre Dunois
7, rue Louise Weiss – Paris (France)
  • Wednesday, June 8, 1988
Le 102
102, rue d’Alembert – Grenoble (Isère, France)
  • Friday, June 10, 1988
Mühle Hunziken
Bern (Switzerland)
  • Saturday, June 11, 1988
Salle du Faubourg
Neuchâtel (Switzerland)
  • Thursday, June 16, 1988
Hôtel Kling Klang
Börsenstraße 73 – Wilhelmshaven (Niedersachsen, Germany)
  • Friday, June 24, 1988
Düsseldorf (Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany)
  • Saturday, June 25, 1988
Das Ulmer Zelt
Friedrichsau, beim Volksfestplatz – Ulm (Baden-Württemberg, Germany)
  • Sunday, June 26, 1988

Concert

Internationales Frauen Rock Treffen

Tempodrom
Möckernstraße 10 – Berlin (Germany)
  • Saturday, October 1, 1988
Albany Empire
Douglas Way – London (England, UK)
  • Sunday, October 2, 1988
Ronnie Scott’s Club
47 Frith Street – London (England, UK)
  • Tuesday, October 11, 1988
Café des Anges
5, rue Sainte-Catherine – Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin, France)
  • Wednesday, October 12, 1988
Café des Anges
5, rue Sainte-Catherine – Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin, France)
  • Friday, October 14, 1988
L’Usine
Reims (Marne, France)
  • Sunday, October 16, 1988
Café de la danse
5, passage Louis Philippe – Paris (France)
  • Monday, October 17, 1988
Café de la danse
5, passage Louis Philippe – Paris (France)

In the press

Wondeur Brass

Peter “Che” Urpeth, Time Out, September 28, 1988

Wondeur Brass en Europe

Diane Boissonneault, La Presse, April 24, 1988

Diane Labrosse, (clavier, voix), Danielle Roger (batterie, voix), Marie Trudeau, (guitare, basse) et Joane Hétu (saxophone, clavier) forment un groupe de filles musiciennes, connues sous le nom de Wondeur Brass.

Ce groupe de musiciennes existe depuis 1980. Un peu partout en ville, en province et même en Europe, elles éjectent une musique différente,audacieuse. La musique des Wondeur Brass se décrit comme alternative.

Compositrices, instrumentistes arrangeuses et chanteuses, elles ont un style de musique unique, arrogant et parfois dérangeant comme la liberté d’expression peut l’être.

On a pu les entendre récemment au Festival international des musiques innovatrices. C’est grace à Production Super-Mémé, (fondée par Diane Labrosse et incluant les Wonder Brass), que s’est concrétisé ce festival international. Ces «super mémés» tenaient à faire entendre le potentiel créatif des filles musiciennes d’ici et d’ailleurs engagées dans les voix du non commercial qui ont des choses à chanter, à vivre. Leur message a été bien entendu. Maintenant les Wondeur Brass s’apprêtent à partir en tournée européenne pour faire la production de leur dernier disque, Simoneda. En juillet, elles participeront à la clôture du Frawen Rock Festival à Berlin.