Lisa Cay Miller: music from Vancouver

“Some of the most intricate and beautiful music that can be heard in Vancouver today.” — The Georgia Straight

Texte: Vancouver pianist and composer Lisa Cay Miller presents her composition Water Carrier, a graphic score for 12 musicians-improvisers. This new work will be premiered by the Ensemble SuperMusique during the concert Accords intuitifs at Gesù, on April 6. During her stay in Montréal, Lisa will share her creative process and musical passion at two other pre-concert events.

  • Saturday April 1, 2017
    1:30 pm to 3:30 pm

Lisa Cay Miller: Atelier d’improvisation

Participants in the workshop will create a condensed version of the piece Water Carrier under the direction of the composer. Lisa will also lead improvisation exercises and discussions that will explore numerous improvisatory concepts that focus upon listening and performing with integrity as an individual and with sensitivity within a group.

The workshop is open to creative minds of any level of ability and will be presented in an inclusive and cooperative environment (in english).

This workshop is presented in collaboration with Studio d’improvisation de Montréal.

For more information, email: info@supermusique.qc.ca

Casa Obscura
4381, avenue Papineau
  • Monday April 3, 2017
    3:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Lisa Cay Miller: Public Rehearsal and Discussion

Come to discover the creative process of Water Carrier by attending a rehearsal of the Ensemble SuperMusique, with 12 musicians-improvisers under the direction of Lisa Cay Miller. To conclude, the composer exchanges with the public about the work and about her way of working with the musicians.

Le Gesù
1200, rue de Bleury

Lisa Cay Miller: De la musique de Vancouver

«… some of the most intricate and beautiful music that can be heard in Vancouver today.» —The Georgia Straight, octobre 2012

La pianiste et compositrice Lisa Cay Miller nous présente Water Carrier, une partition graphique pour 12 musiciens-improvisateurs. Cette nouvelle œuvre sera créée lors du concert Accords intuitifs de l’Ensemble SuperMusique, le 6 avril 2017 à l’Amphithéâtre du Gesù. Pendant son séjour à Montréal, Lisa partagera son processus de création et sa passion musicale lors de deux autres événements avant le concert.

  • Samedi 1 avril 2017
    13h30 à 15h30

Atelier d’improvisation

Cet atelier d’improvisation permettra aux participants de créer une version condensée de Water Carrier sous la direction de la compositrice. Lisa dirigera également des exercices d’improvisation et des discussions qui exploreront de nombreux concepts d’improvisations axés sur l’écoute et l’exécution de façon intègre, comme individu et avec sensibilité au sein d’un groupe.

L’atelier est ouvert aux musiciens créatifs de tous niveaux et sera présenté dans un environnement inclusif et coopératif (principalement en anglais).

Cet atelier est présenté en collaboration avec le Studio d’improvisation de Montréal.

Pour informations supplémentaires: info@supermusique.qc.ca

Casa Obscura
4381, avenue Papineau
  • Lundi 3 avril 2017
    15h00 à 17h00

Répétition publique et discussion

Venez découvrir le processus de création de Water Carrier en assistant à une répétition des 12 musiciens-improvisateurs de l’Ensemble SuperMusique, sous la direction de Lisa Cay Miller. Pour conclure, la compositrice échange avec le public au sujet de l’œuvre et de sa façon de travailler avec les musiciens.

Le Gesù
1200, rue de Bleury